Phase II

Today a friend brought us three young lads – a larger Rhode Island red boy, and two smaller Barnevelders.  I killed the RIR but we’ll grow the barnies up for a few weeks.

I spent a couple of hours over the weekend making a killing cone – as the name suggests it’s a cone into which you place the chicken.  It holds them still while you cut their throat, and being upside down, they bleed out faster.

We gave plucking a go, but the skin was quite thin and he had a lot of pin feathers so I ended up skinning him.

As it was my first time (vez primera), I took the legs, breasts and wings off the carcass first, then gutted the carcass to minimise any collateral yukkiness from botched gutting.  Fortunately, it all went well and we have both nice-looking joints and a clean carcass for stock.

Cutting the throat was a little confronting.  I’d had the process described to me, and I’d seen video, but actually doing it is a little different.  I couldn’t feel the pulse for starters, and even when I’d made the cut I wasn’t sure if I’d done it right.  So after maybe 30 seconds I lopped his head off to be sure, and thank Athe there wasn’t a drop of blood left in him. So now I know what a good throat cut looks like!  I’m happy enough to keep doing this so long as I’m doing it right but my fear is botching one and having a distressed, flapping, half-dead bird.  I guess that’s what cleavers are for!

The jointing was the easiest part – just like a shop bought bird, except that as I hadn’t eviscerated him at that point I had to be careful not to let the knife get into the cavity at all.  And also, he was still warm.

I’ll edit this post in the coming week to add pics of the cone and the meat.

<edit 19/4> He was very tasty: slightly more flavour and a much meatier texture than bought chicken.  Any reservations I might have had about killing and eating pets have completely gone!

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] a bit small to eat yet so we are growing them out.  We’ve now eaten two Rhode Island Reds (this one, plus another a few weeks later), and at the moment we have five boys in the growing queue – […]

    Reply

  2. […] Following the death of Juliet, I had a friend who keeps chickens offer me one of her Araucanas.  (This is the very same super-generous friend, in fact, who has been giving us all her excess boys.) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

