Thinking about foraging

Last October, I found a bunch of morels on my way to work. I picked them, but not trusting my identification skills I used them to inoculate my garden. I figure I can grow whatever they are, and show them to a mushroom expert when I fine one.

image

But it has got me thinking: what could we find if we put or minds to it? I went looking for black trumpets today, and I think I may have found some remnants:

image

image

They look terrible but I think they may have been black trumpets once. No point picking them: there wasn’t much left to identify. I’ll try the spot again later though.

And here is what I think is Hawthorne, from a park:

image

There would have been buckets of them. We went looking for white mulberry, but couldn’t find any.

Problem is, the stakes are high with wild food. Misidentification is a mistake you might only make once.

Does anyone have a good reference for foraging? How could I be sure that I’m not going to poison myself?

Leave a Reply

